"Totally winning at life at the moment"

Alright, so my dear friend Sarah and I decided following a late night Scoopon trawl, to go rockclimbing at City Summit in Malaga. Awesome place and we had loads of fun, except for one BIG mistake – Sarah quite proudly proclaimed prior to our adventure that she was “totally winning at life at the moment”. 
Mistake: Charlie Sheen is the only person that can make this statement within any superstitious repercussions. 
Consequence: Whilst we were climbing (free climbing sans harness up a maybe 4 metre wall?), I was about to switch my camera settings to action shot and this happened… Sarah feel from above that yellow line. As such, she tore a few ligaments in her foot and has been on crutches since the event (3 weeks) and visiting the physio twice a week – why she is complaining about having to visit the physio twice a week I do not know – he is a bit’a alright.

.

Action shot of Sarah “winning at life”.

Aside from Sarah’s mishap, it was a totally awesome 2 hours. We got our Scoopon’s for $9 for an entire day of rock climbing (including harness and chalk which we pleaded for), which even at the normal price of $18 is a bargain for a full day of entertaining and an agonising work out. They also have a cafe there which overlooks the climbing area. 
So note to self – don’t make any Charlie Sheen style proclamations – it is guaranteed to backfire. Here are the rest of the photos including the one where I got stuck. 
 Stuntman mat at the base of the free wall. 

Milliseconds before the infamous fall. 

I decided to have a go at self-belaying (no person at the bottom holding your rope – rather, you are attached to a rope that works with like a seat belt). And I got stuck. I do look totally pro doing the climb. 
I am off to hang out my washing. I will have pretty awesome news to share later this week (no Mum, I am not pregnant). 
Lindsay 
xx

One thought on “"Totally winning at life at the moment"

  1. Lucent Imagery

    Fun! (apart from your friend's fall of course). We climb outdoors occasionally, but always with a helmet as I can't see what's around me and rely on feel more than sight. I bump my head a lot on the rocks above me, hence the helmet! I prefer to climb up than abseil down nowadays. It's such a great feeling. Enjoy your week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

